Theatre Detail

Theatre Theatre Detail


The Adelphi celebrated its bicentenary in 2006 and two centuries since the first building opened in 1806. It was built by entrepreneur John Scott was originally called the Sans Pareil. It has enjoyed several other names since then, including The Adelphi, Theatre Royal Adelphi and The Century Theatre.

The theatre was highly popular during the nineteenth century, particularly with stage adaptations of Charles Dickens’ ‘The Pickwick Papers’.

In the 1950s Woolworths acquired the theatre and planned to redevelop it is a shop, which thankfully never came to fruition. The theatre has been home to many extremely successful productions in its long history, including James Corden's One Man, Two Guvnors in 2011, Joseph’s Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat in 2007, Tallulah Bankhead in The Green Hat in 1925 and Chicago, the musical which holds the record as the longest running show at the Adelphi in 1997.

The building is Grade II listed, with beautiful art deco elements introduced in 1930 by architect Ernest Schaufelberg. The building is undergoing near-constant maintenance to improve amenities and ensure a good visitor experience.

According to local legend The Adelphi is home to the ghost of actor William Terris, who was stabbed on the way to perform at the theatre. He did in the arms of the rest of the cast, stating with his dying breath that he would return one day.

Leicester Square Box Office

  • 42, Cranbourn Street, London, WC2H 7AN
    Phone: 020-7087-2999
    Opening Hours: Mon–Sat | 10:00 – 19:00

Copyright © LSBO - All rights reserved | Site Map | FAQs | Terms | Privacy Policy

Half The Price | Twice The Fun